HRWC honored several volunteers at its 45th annual meeting on Thursday April 29, recognizing their dedication to the Huron River. This year’s Volunteer Award recipients were: Rochelle Breitenbach for the Herb Munzel Zebra Mussel Award, John Knott for the That’s Using Your Headwaters Award, Lee Green for the Laminar Flow Award and Alex Bajcz for the Vanishing Species Award.

HRWC Volunteer Award Recipients 2010.

We also thanked Eric Sweeney, a volunteer graduate intern who spent the winter with us working on the Bioreserve Project. His computer programming skills reduced a half day report-writing process to a half an hour task and he set up field assessments on natural area properties for the entire spring portion of this year’s field season! We are very happy Eric will re-join us in a couple of weeks to help out in the field.